Kazakhstan Visa informations

Travelers should be aware of the visa requirements for Kazakhstan before planning their trip:

Visas on Arrival: Visas on arrival with a validity of up to one month are available for nationals arriving from a country without a Kazakh diplomatic mission. The fee for this visa is approximately US$80. Travelers must hold an invitation letter and obtain approval from the Kazakh Ministry of Foreign Affairs. Additionally, they must enter Kazakhstan through specific airports, which include Aktau, Almaty, Nur-Sultan, Atyrau, or Oral Ak Zhol airports.

Visa in Advance: Travelers not falling into the above categories must obtain a visa in advance. This means obtaining a visa before arriving in Kazakhstan.

Additional Information: For the most up-to-date information on visa requirements, it's advisable to contact a Kazakhstan diplomatic mission in your area or visit the official website of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Kazakhstan. Keep in mind that requirements and procedures can change, so it's crucial to verify the latest information before making travel plans.

Please ensure that you have the necessary visa and documentation in order to avoid any travel disruptions. It's always a good practice to check with the nearest Kazakh embassy or consulate for the most accurate and up-to-date information on visa requirements.

Visa free entry
Citizens of the following countries and territories can visit Kazakhstan without a visa. Since 11 July 2020, visa-free visitors can stay for a maximum of 90 days within a 180-day timeframe (counted from the first entry)

90 Days30 Days
GiorgiaEcuador Uzbekistan
MoldavaSouth korea 
Ukrine United Arab Emirates 
14 Days
Hong KongIndia

Here are some additional notes regarding visa-free entry to Kazakhstan:

^ ID – May enter with a national ID card
^ IP – May enter with an internal passport
1 – Up to 30 days within a year period
2 – Up to 30 days within a 180-day period
3 – Up to 30 days, allowing for a maximum total stay of 60 days within any 180-day period
4 – Up to 42 days within a 180-day period

Additionally, residents of the Balkan Region in Turkmenistan have visa-free access to Atyrau Province and Mangystau Province in Kazakhstan for up to 5 days.

Visa-free program
Citizens of countries that do not require a visa for stays of fewer than 30 days in Kazakhstan as part of the visa-free policy are those with significant foreign direct investment in Kazakhstan's economy. This program was initially launched on July 15, 2014, offering unilateral visa-free access to 10 countries. Subsequently, it was extended to a total of 19 countries in July 2015, further expanded to 43 countries in January 2017, and eventually included 54 countries in September 2019.

However, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, this visa-free program experienced three consecutive suspensions, starting on April 17, 2020. On May 4, 2021, the program was suspended until December 31, 2021. Nevertheless, it has been resumed on January 1, 2022, and entry without a visa is permitted, including overland border crossings.

All European Union citizensIndonesiaMonacoSingapore
AustraliaIsraelNew ZealandSwitzerland
CanadaKuwaitOmanUnited Kingdom
ChileLiechtensteinPhilippinesUnited States
IcelandMalaysiaQatarVatican City
 MexicoSaudi ArabiaVietnam

Visa replacement
Citizens of the following countries who hold valid tourist visas for Kyrgyzstan are eligible to visit the border districts of Almaty and Jambul regions of Kazakhstan within the validity of such visa:

AustraliaDenmarkHungaryJapanNetherlandsSaudi ArabiaSweden
AustriaFinlandIcelandLiechtensteinNew ZealandSingaporeSwitzerland
BelgiumFranceIrelandLuxembourgNorwaySlovakiaUnited Arab Emirates
CanadaGermanyIsraelMalaysiaPortugalSouth KoreaUnited Kingdom
CroatiaGreeceItalyMonacoPolandSpainUnited States

Non-ordinary passports
Citizens who hold diplomatic passports from the following countries are eligible to visit Kazakhstan without a visa for up to 90 days:

Czech RepublicFinlandGreeceLithuaniaSloveniaVatican City

Additionally, holders of diplomatic and service category passports from the following countries are eligible for visa-free entry for up to 90 days:

ChileCyprusMexicoNorth MacedoniaUnited Arab Emirates 

For citizens of Egypt and Poland who hold diplomatic passports, visa-free entry is permitted for up to 30 days.

Citizens who hold both diplomatic and service category passports from the following countries can also visit Kazakhstan without a visa for up to 30 days:

Bosnia and HerzegovinaHungaryIranPakistanSri LankaVietnam

Passport holders of the United Nations (laissez-passer) are exempt from requiring a visa for a stay of up to 30 days within a 180-day period.

Electronic visa
Starting from January 1, 2019, citizens of 117 countries can apply for a single-entry eVisa to visit Kazakhstan for various purposes. The eVisa is available for purposes such as tourism and business, and there are also specific eVisas for medical treatment purposes available for 23 countries. Please note that travelers holding an eVisa must enter Kazakhstan through Nursultan Nazarbayev International Airport or Almaty International Airport.


Quick facts for visitors

Visitors from many countries can enter Kazakhstan without a visa for various durations. However, the specific requirements and visa policies may vary, so it's essential to check the latest entry requirements based on your nationality before traveling.

Kazakh folklore

Kazakh folklore is rich and diverse, reflecting the country's nomadic heritage, deep cultural traditions, and historical influences from various ethnic groups. It includes a wide range of oral traditions, myths, legends, epic poetry, music, and dance.

The Best time to visit Kazakhstan

The best time to visit Kazakhstan depends on your interests and the specific regions you plan to explore. Kazakhstan is a vast country with diverse climates, so the ideal time to visit can vary depending on whether you want to experience the cities, the steppes, the mountains, or other natural attractions.